Arts and Crafts Tile

"Sheaf of Wheat:

What is more central to civilization and the building of cultures and  history than bread and the grain from which it’s made? My strange interest in grain was spurred by my current fervor for ancient history. As I read, I kept coming across information about imported and exported grain, such as Egyptian grain for Roman subjects. The idea crystallized: I visualized a sheaf of wheat. Ceres, Demeter. I felt like I must truly be going insane because I thought about grains of wheat for days! The image kept coming back to me. So, I decided to use the iconic sheaf of wheat motif to make an Arts & Crafts style tile. I started working on it several weeks ago, finished the detailing today, covered it up and put it back in the damp room to slowly dry.

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in My Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Arts and Crafts Tile

  1. Mark says:

    Congratulations on your terrific blog — can’t wait to see more!

  2. gary says:

    Wheat a great idea !…… what is what i mean, you ooze artistic talent…… great ideas and certainly interesting … good luck!….. gary ( keep it coming- work at it all nite!)

    • Jan says:

      Gary, I’m glad you like the idea! I hope you’ll be a ‘regular’ and, my friend, your sculptures cannot be beat! I do think you’re right about putting more hours in; I was thinking of that yesterday. See you tomorrow in the studio!

  3. Pingback: Open Studio Report, 3-29 | JANE STREET CLAYWORKS

  4. Pingback: Pottery News Briefs & Job Postings | JANE STREET CLAYWORKS

Leave a Reply

