Rudy Autio, Montana Artist

Rudy Autio made big, sculptural pieces which were embellished with colored slips.  A native Montanan, he was was born in Butte, Montana, in 1926 and was of Finnish descent. “As a child, he first learned to draw by taking evening classes from Works Progress Administration artists working in Butte,” according to the entry in Wikipedia. Autio’s whole life was devoted to art. He started the Ceramics Department at the University of Montana, in Missoula, where he taught for 28 years. Notably, he was a founding resident artist of the Archie Bray Foundation. I was fortunate enough to have been in one of his workshops through  Mr. Takehara’s annual guest workshop series. The two met in Bozeman and became lifelong friends. Autio later lived in Polson, on Flathead Lake. I am particularly fond of this artist, in part, because of his work, but also because of my love of Montana. My grandmother was born in Butte and my mother in Missoula. I lived in Missoula a couple of times and graduated from the U of M there. I live in Canada now, but my heart is in Montana.

Vodpod videos no longer available.


Rudy Autio, posted with vodpod

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Featured Artists, Video/Photos/Slide Show and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

