Some of my clay pieces from the 1980s

Tonight at the studio I was tripping down memory lane so, when I came home, I thought of a few pieces I made in the ’80s.  Because of an injury, I don’t throw anymore, so it’s somewhat bittersweet for me to see some of these. That was then, though, and this is now and I do like what I’m producing now. It’s just a different phase, although, looking at Sand Dollar, I now feel inspired to revisit sea themes. Starting this weekend, I’ll be posting some interviews and articles. Until then, I’m posting these and, soon, a few others. I felt a little guilty, thinking I was using photos as ‘filler,’ but as I viewed them, I reconsidered. It’s very helpful to review one’s work over time, especially if it covers either many years or considerable terrain. We can look at what we did and think about who we were then and how it came to be that we created such a piece. It’s a time capsule.

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in My Work, Video/Photos/Slide Show and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

