Open Studio Report

It felt like I got a lot done at the studio yesterday. I brought home three things:

Navajo Red bowl, bottom left unglazed, inside and rim glazed with Red Chrome. This glaze interacts with the iron in red clay, causing a lovely gray mixed with wine and hints of blue.

Reglaze job worked well on the low box. White clay, Red Chrome glaze. No gray but hints of blue.

Kitchen scrubber holder done. Red clay with Red Chrome…nice gray accents.

I didn’t use my cart yesterday because I didn’t want anything to break on the way home but, next Tuesday, I’ll roll my supplies on down the hill to the studio again. Let’s see…I continued working on my bird house. Forgot to take my camera, so didn’t get pics of it, but it’s coming along well. Next week, I’ll make the top. Because the bottom half was so big, I cut it down. Now it’s not nearly as tall or wide. As David Jason says in the The Darling Buds of May — “Per-fic.”

What else? Oh, yes, I glazed a white clay relief tile for my husband’s Auntie Marj. It was created from mold I made of the ‘Snowfall Tile.‘ Before bisquing, I painted the whole thing with white underglaze and textured it. It’s been bisqued, now, and looks startling white. In the background, leaves of gold, orange and red are falling. Yesterday, I glazed the top surface and sides with Shino…we’ll see how it turns out. I want some fall color action and am hoping the Shino creates a rich gold and dampens the brilliance of the leaves a bit.

Did I do anything else? Oh…I made a mold of the escutcheon tile I’d made, using corn starch to prevent sticking. Also, my Sheaf of Wheat tile has finally dried to the point where I can leave it completely uncovered now till it’s bone dry. Gads it’s taking a long time, but it is well over an inch thick and had very thin parts on top, so I was extra careful.

I had done some Qi Gong exercises before I left home and the clay work itself was very grounding, so I felt doubly good when I got back home! Next Wednesday, I’ll post another Open Studio Report….

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open Studio Report

  1. Pauline Doyle says:

    Hi Jan,
    I liked this post. Friendly and personal but, you forgot the part about Nacho eating. I had one slice of toast for dinner; I was so stuffed. My work on my frog series is coming along I think and I hope to have my daughter do a video of them and other recent works and maybe you would post it on your blog? What do you think?

    Oh, I’ve decided on my nom de plume! It won’t be an addition to my given name but a completely other name. More later.

  2. Jan says:

    I love the video idea, yes, Pauline, let’s do it…yay, Maddy! Ht’ll be a great post. Hmmm, curiosity piqued…nom de plume. Oh, the nachos and calamari were so good and, as I write this, I am thinking, gee, beer would have been good with that, too….

Leave a Reply

