Ceramics/Pottery Project Planner

A goal without a plan is just a wish.” — Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I have a black hardback sketch pad for keeping notes about clay work. It’s been sitting on my shelf for years and even now, when I think of it, my mind goes blank because I have yet to have a system for recording projects. What I do have is scraps of paper with notes and sketches. As an idea person, I need to have a better way of consolidation all this info, let alone keep track of a project. To help me move to the next level of work, I want to start making a record of what I’m doing. A project planner will help me be accountable to myself, help me work toward a specific goal, and give me proof of my work. A planner will also serve as a reference tool and help me plan future work.

When my planner layout is finished, I will photocopy it on archival paper. I am not certain what the finish size will be, as I have yet to determine how I’ll hold my pages together. Ring binder? If so, what size, etc. Today, I’ll spend time creating a layout I think will work for me. After I have a working draft, I’ll post it here for comments. I’d like input from you to prevent leaving out something crucial. After that, I’ll make changes and corrections, then post the final draft. I’ll lay it out with Quark XPress on my Mac, then convert it to a jpg for posting. No template, as it’ll be filled out by hand. If you like it, you’re welcome to use it for your own projects.

Questions: What kind of system do I need and what are the things that are important to record and remember? Here are some of the areas I’ll add to my draft. If you have any ideas of your own, I’d be grateful if you’d tell me. Please write them in the comments section of this post. Thank you!

PROJECT PLANNER TEXT DRAFT

Start Date
Project Type, i.e. bowl, tile, etc.
Sketches
Clay Description, reason for choice
Construction Notes
Problems & Solutions
Wet Stage Completion Date:
Photo
Drying Stage Notes
Drying Problems & Solutions
Bisque-fire Date
Firing Temp
Area Placed in Kiln
Post-firing Comments
Glaze(s), reason for choice
Glaze Fire Date
Firing Temp
Area Placed in Kiln
Photo
Title
Finish Date

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, How-to-do-it, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

