Open Studio Report

Today was my first day back in the studio since April 28th. It was heavenly: being able to work with clay, sitting around the table with friends, and seeing what they’ve been working on. Jumping right in, I made three chanterelle mushrooms from white clay, I checked on another project, and then I was tired out. We had a nice lunch, then I came home and took a long rest. It is the first time I’d gone somewhere and done something since my surgery. I mean I’ve been to the library and out with friends for coffee and meals and such, but this was the first time I physically exerted myself doing something away from home, well, since April 28th…the night I fell ill. So, it felt good but also winded me. I was able to take a couple of things home, though, which felt good and seemed symbolic. It’s taken a half a year to finish these little puppies and I’d re-glazed them twice…my olive oil lamps. We just put wicks in and lit them….  They are so lovely! I’ll wait till it gets darker, 9:30ish, then will snap photos of them for you. At long last. To me, today, they symbolize hope. They are cheerful. Plus, I made them, which makes it all the nicer. (If you’d like to make your own, click here for instructions.) People have used such lamps for millennia. Olive oil has a nice scent, it burns clean, and produces a large enough flame to read by. The lamps don’t get warm. It’s so nice to have been able to bring them home and light them today!

Reproduction Roman Olive Oil Lamp

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Fun, Home and Garden, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Open Studio Report

  1. Pauline says:

    What a lovely light!

  2. Connie Thoreson says:

    Very cool! I am glad you are getting back into the swing of things 🙂

    • Jan says:

      Thank you, Connie, and for all of your support! There is nothing as therapeutic as doing what you truly love… 🙂

Leave a Reply

