Something’s cooking at Jane Street Clayworks!

I am so happy to follow up on proposed changes to Jane Street Clayworks. Intentions are the same and action is about to begin. Today, I meet with my job coach and a self-employment coach prior to being matched with a business consultant who is going to help me launch my hosted site. As reported earlier, WordPress is going to take care of the guided transfer from .com to .org and I already own my domain name. Host Gator has been recommended to me and WP will transfer my entire blog, as is, to my new site. I’ve already paid for this service and am now moving forward again. In addition, because I will work from my home, I’m having an ergonomics assessment done on my home interior to help me decide how to best work from home. Finally, I am getting a new computer. I work on Macs solely, have since the tiny Mac classics first came out in the ’80s. So, I’ll stick with what I know and will probably get an iMac. In addition, I use assistive technology because of a permanent disability stemming from a serious workplace accident in the late 90s. That means I actually type very little. Instead, I use voice recognition software…I speak into a headset and what I say is transcribed to a text document. Soon, I will get a voice to print digital voice recorder to help transcribe interviews. I have Elma to thank, my vivacious, creative, job coach. She believes in me and I couldn’t have come this far without her. Thank you, Elma! In the near future, I’ll have a new website and will begin a new page in my life, personally and creatively. Despite my recent medical setback, this site had nearly 3,500 views in May, not counting syndicated views, and that number continues to grow. Sure, I know there are sites that draw 15,000 hits in a day, easy. But, to me, this is The Little Engine That Could: “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can” will become “I thought I could, I thought I could.”

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Current Events, Fun, Home and Garden, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something’s cooking at Jane Street Clayworks!

  1. Connie says:

    YAY!
    I am glad to hear that you are going ahead with this because I know it is something you are passionate about AND you know a lot about your topic.
    CONGRATULATIONS JAN!
    HUGE hugs 🙂
    Connie

    • Jan says:

      Thank you so much, Connie…your help has made a huge difference and I so appreciate it! Bear hug!! — Jan xoxo 🙂

  2. Pauline says:

    You are making it happen Jan. This is terrific. Onward and upwards!
    Pauline

    • Jan says:

      Thank you, Pauline! Phew…yes..it’s becoming a reality. Send me good vibes for my meeting today and I’ll let you know how things go…xoxo

Leave a Reply

