Open Studio Report: June 21nd

"July on the Volga River" by Nikolai Galakhov. Source: Wikidpedia Commons

Happy Summer Solstice! Yesterday was sunny and warm, but not too hot, and there was a nice breeze. A perfect beginning to summer…. We were even able to leave the studio door propped open. Flowers of every color are planted outside the door and it looked so nice when we entered and left. As far as my work, I continue to play catch-up with all the projects I’m behind on. Well, I’ve thrown in a few new ones, too.

  • Finished making some pot risers and set them to dry in the damp room. Put talons on each for decoration.
  • Began underglazing my “Sheaf of Wheat” tile. It will have three layers of white underglaze, followed by Shino.
  • Checked the four “Trees” tiles, which I’ll be able to fire next week. (Yay!)
  • Took a set of three mushrooms from home to studio

It might not sound like much, but I’m still moving a bit slow. It just feels good to be back at it again, so I don’t mind. These are my plans for next week:

  • Put tiles in firing area
  • Uncover two bowls for further drying
  • Uncover folded clay vessel for further drying
  • Check all molds that are drying
  • Check all mushroom projects

Plans for the near future:

  • Finish the bird house
  • Finish bowls
  • Begin my take on the Four Seasons Obelisk
  • Start developing a tile inventory.

Our art form is bound by processes that take time: idea inception, creation, drying time, and successive firings. Because of this, I would like to start making some smaller items that take less time to dry and weigh little. Research and experiments. I’d also like to investigate Amaco Velvet Underglazes. Anyway, summer’s here and there’s plenty of time!

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Featured Artists, Fun, Home and Garden, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open Studio Report: June 21nd

  1. gary says:

    Love the pic…. summer on the volga!….. the figurine idea is great am going to use it ! around some of my large potted japanese maples on my decks….. have about seven, upwards to 6′ high….. would be neat around the tops of the planters- gary ( would make them up and to 8” to 1” high !) some good examples associated in the info attached to your blog!!

  2. Jan says:

    Thank you, Gary. I thought that an apt pic, too, especially considering how nice yesterday was…so nice. The figurines are cool and you would be so good at sculpting those. I can see them in your pots now. I like the size variation you are talking about, too. Thanks for the kudos! — Jan

Leave a Reply

