Jane Street Clayworks Update: Digitization & Dirt

BLOG: Things are inching closer toward observable change. Next week, I meet about a new computer set-up. Several weeks ago, when I was in Spokane, I visited the Apple store to compare iMacs and laptops. I lifted the latter, trying to decide how wide and heavy I’d go. I considered the former, to decide how wide I’d go. My supplier will also assess my needs and give me feedback. Plus, an occupational therapist did an ergonomic assessment of my home workspace, so his input will be factored in, as well. I’ll be getting a monitor arm if I choose an iMac and, either way, all peripherals will be wireless. It looks like I’ll use Dragon voice recognition software with my computer and  word-to-text digital recorder. I’ve not conducted interviews or written full-length features for some time, as I’m waiting for my upgrade. It’s too hard on me, physically, to do it any other way. In addition, I have been given the go-ahead to take mini-courses focusing on social media, small business, production, law. Specific books have been lined up, too, including Social Media Marketing for Dummies, Search Engine Optimization For Dummies, We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media, The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Social Media Marketing.

CLAY: Within a week’s time, the molds I’ve made will be bisque fired. This summer, has been a time for experimenting with production methods and treatments. I still intend to have a link to an e-commerce storefront, but have yet to decide on the venue. Investigating Etsy, ArtFire, Red Bubble, and more. My style comes under the Arts & Crafts School and I’m presently experimenting with the cuerda seca and cuenca methods used with Art Nouveau ceramics. I’m getting ready to enter a clay only stage. Up to now, I’ve taken part in a program that has helping me get going with my blog/biz idea, but the paperwork/planning took so much time, I had less brain power left over for clay. I am still in the program but am about to exit the planning phase and enter the doing phase. I’m ready to hunker down with my creativity. Asking the Universe to postpone any planned distractions or crises for a time. At the crossroads…. Business advisor stage done. Check. Vacation over. Check. Mom’s surgery was successful; she’s on the mend. Check. New computer set-up on the horizon. Check. Claywork for benefit donations done or nearly done. Check. Desire and motivation to concentrate on clay strong. Check. I have a great need to enter the vein and will pay less attention to externals. Does this also have to do with the time of year? The transition from summer to fall as a time of focus? We are thoroughly enjoying the vestiges of summer, but change is nigh.

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Current Events, My Work, Video/Photos/Slide Show and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jane Street Clayworks Update: Digitization & Dirt

  1. Connie says:

    Sounds like things are rolling along nicely 🙂

  2. Connie says:

    Absolutely! i think we will both have a lot to talk about. I will be eager to hear about how things went for the new equipment as well as training and of course what directions your blogging will take. Exciting times 🙂

Leave a Reply

