Open Studio Update: 8/30

Wow, is it time for my weekly update already? Pages are just flyin’ off the calendar, I tell you. Yesterday, I noticed a leaf on the windshield. Peering at it, I tried to discern whether it was a sign of fall or a diseased leaf. While my body seems to be hungering for fall, my mind still wants sun. Vancouver broke all records this spring: 90 straight days of rain. If I hadn’t experienced the sun in Montana’s Big Sky Country, I mightn’t have had any summer, really. (She says as she downs the Vitamin D. I take 1000 IU twice a day. One must here…) I arrived late at the studio today, thinking we were already back to the fall schedule, but we weren’t, so I lost an hour. What I did do was this:

Action: Glazed 10 workshop tiles, three pot risers, three chanterelles sculptures. Moved greenware to bisque area – – toadstools, “Sunrise” mold, escutcheon mold and it has already been loaded into the kiln. Plate/low bowl was glazed but it broke; I kept the pieces because the color combo worked so well, I want to work with it again and will study the piece further: white, green and blue. Bought a bag of paper clay and a new Open Studio punch ticket for $75.oo. (The ticket is good for five punches.) More experimenting on “Trees” tile ‘snow.’ Returned to my original method for snow effect: glaze left to dry, then wiped off flush. Enough glaze remains in the tiny indentations; the matte white contrasts well with the terra cotta.

Plans: Rolling out slabs of paper clay for my obelisk project. (Was just too darned tired today…at 2:30 pm, I checked out, went home and took a nap.) Underglaze toadstools, with clear glaze over. Purchase white clay. Prep the three “Trees” tiles for glaze firing. Fingers crossed that molds bisque fire without a hitch, so I can begin to make some escutcheon and sunrise tiles.

I can’t tell you how happy I am that I have finally gotten to the point where I will be able to embark on my ‘escutcheon project.’ I have big plans for experimenting with it: want to make sweet, cottagey-feeling ones, raw, rakued pieces, and rustic, terra cotta ones that would look good in a cabin. Porcelain would do very nicely, too. If I like how it works out, I want to create an escutcheon series, using antique ones as inspiration. Everything is wrapping up nicely during the change of seasons. Interesting timing…. All my molds will be done before summer’s end! This means I can spend the fall playing and perfecting. What a lovely point to have reached! It’s been a long time coming. Tomorrow, I will initiate the next stage toward acquiring a computer. Life is right on track and I’m happy with what is happening.

Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower. — Albert Camus

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Current Events, Fun, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

