Display racks to enhance your artisan tiles

Tiles by William De Morgan, 1872-1882, manufactured by Josiah Wedgwood and Sons. Source: Wikimedia Commons

This summer, I learned that a tile I’d given for Christmas wasn’t being displayed. Well, I know that when it starts belonging to someone else, it is their business and what they do or do not do with it doesn’t pertain to me. Still, it did ‘ouch’ and brought up an issue: my lack of sources for displaying the things I make. The display hardware I’ve seen consists of wooden racks, Chinese style, and brass plate hangers that grip the piece from behind. Neither works well for my style of work. So, I decided to investigate, as I’ll soon be needing some. What I’m looking for are nice racks for my artisan tiles, something that would be sturdy, yet not detract, and nothing that feels modern. My tiles are Arts and Crafts style. This timeline spans the second half of the 19th Century in Great Britain and 1905-1925 in the U.S. In addition,  Orientalism was the rage for a decade, starting with the 1880s. Think Gilbert and Sullivan’s “The Mikado.” Ostensibly, these modern Chinese stands could be used, but I think they would detract from my tiles because of the ornamentation. Originally, such tiles would have been inset into wooden furniture, wall panels, and around fireplaces. Plate rails would have been used, too. But not all tiles would have been displayed that way. Because I am unable to try any of these out on my tiles, I am going to do a bit of photoshopping…will ‘place’ my tiles one-by-one behind the racks to see what I think looks best. If you know of any sources I might like, in addition to the one listed below, please let me know. I’d appreciate it! — Jan

Part of a panel of tiles designed by William Morris for Membland Hall and executed by William De Morgan, 1876. Source Wikimedia Commons

Tile Racks: Fine Home Displays carries some nice items. It also has Better Business Bureau accreditation and takes orders from Canada. The following are called plate holders, but they could easily double for tile racks, ones that hang.

  • The Loop Design is black with a matte finish and retails for $12.89-$14.89; comes in two different sizes.
  • The Scroll Style holder goes for $15.89-$18.89; comes in these colors: gold, steel, dark steel and black. Two sizes.
  • The Iron Easel is black and quite plain and I like it. Sells for $15.89. It’s quite large and can double as a bowl rack.
  • Chair Motif Bowl Holder for $19.89. Lovely; must include it! Wrought iron, an antique gold finish, it is now out of stock, but you can be notified when it’s in.
About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Featured Artists, Home and Garden, Video/Photos/Slide Show and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

