Low-key plans over Canadian Thanksgiving

This week I moved forward, I’m happy to say! Jane Street Clayworks is now an approved business name. In addition, the business is now registered in B.C. and my license is being processed. That’s the good news and it is indeed sweet to hear. On the tech side, I was hoping to be set up on my other site by now, but the changeover has yet to take place. I will be rescheduling for next week and, until then, will make sure the appointment is confirmed. Don’t know what’s happened, as two time slots have passed without any change. I’m not a techie, though, so I can’t tell you what’s up. I’ve googled WordPress’ guided transfer service and have read that it doesn’t have a 100% or A+ rating, but since I cannot do it myself, I do believe that once it happens, it’ll be just fine. I’m taking things as they come…if I’ve done my part and the rest is out of my control, well, it’s out of my hands. When the time is right, it will indeed happen. In the meantime, I have plenty to do. I start working on a pine cone tile design tomorrow. I saw some lovely copper tooled versions and want to make some tiles with that motif. We have a shore pine in front of our house and I might go with that type. They’re long, slender, and smallish. I remember the enormous pine cones I once got in the Yosemite area. I have one in our office still. Gee, it’s enormous. Shore pines aren’t that common, though, so the cone and the needles will be distinctive. It’s a three-day weekend here and everyone’s getting in a holiday mood. Canadian Thanksgiving is on Monday. I actually have not planned a big dinner and we won’t be having turkey. It’ll be a two-person affair; low-key. We have no family here, so this is the status quo for most holiday action, unless we travel to see family. I have yet to be so assimilated into Canadian society that I even remember when all the holidays are, she says rather sheepishly…. I’m also just ready for a leisurely weekend without a lot of obligations. Will do some fall clean-up, especially around the tall grasses, ferns and garden. Later, in November, we’ll be heading down to celebrate U.S. Thanksgiving with my family for the first time in ages. I’ll get my cranberry sauce fix then. It doesn’t mean the Spirit of Thanksgiving will be missing from our home, though. We have plenty to be thankful for and I acknowledge the many ways we’ve been blessed.

About Jan

I have a background in ceramics, graphic design and journalism.
This entry was posted in Articles and Interviews, Current Events, Home and Garden, My Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Low-key plans over Canadian Thanksgiving

  1. Hew says:

    Hi Jan!

    Very glad you put this post up. We’ve been trying to get in touch with you for days but to no avail (your email address keeps bouncing back to us).

    Your new site has been ready since Oct 4th, but we have had no way to let you know! Could you send us an email (at the From: address in our original communication to you) from a different email account so we can get back in touch?

    • Jan says:

      Hew, thank you so much for getting in touch! I was at a loss… Yesterday, I sent the info via my gmail addy for this blog. I sent it to support@wordpress.com, which I originally sent my first e-mail to way back when. Let me know what day you want me to refrain from posting and I’ll do it. Thank you again! — Jan

Leave a Reply

